Hava Nagila!

Everything does pass, and we can endure and we can survive!! – Rahul Dravid

Madhuri Dixit

Bollywood has been graced by many exemplary dancers. Helen, Vyjayantimala, Hema Malini, Rekha, Madhuri Dixit, Sridevi…. the list goes on. Among all these danseuses, Madhur Dixit Nene is someone very, very special. I believe she wins over others hands down!!

I first saw her dance in Chane Ke Khet Mein in the film Anjaam. I was too young then to admire anything; let alone Madhuri’s dance. Also, the movie was a little too powerful that it took away Chane ke Khet mein. However, I liked her million dollar smile. As I grew, I watched more movies – Beta, Khalnayak, Yaaraana, Dil To Pagal Hai, Hum Aapke Hain Koun and many others in which Madhuri’s dancing skills left me spell bound. She was the first heroine I admired.

Her versatility just blew me away. She moved with so much ease that it threw me off guard. Dhak Dhak karne laga, Didi Tera, Choli ke peeche, Akhiyaan Milaoon, Maar Daala – each is different; yet brilliant. More than neat footwork, lightness in air, grace, charm or anything else, her moves and emotions look extremely natural.  She doesn’t dance; dance comes to her. It is as though she was born to dance!

I don’t like reality shows much, especially the north Indian ones, because they seem extremely artificial to me. However, I was tempted to watch the finals of Jhalak Dhikla Jaa only because I read in the papers that Madhuri and Sridevi would be gracing the stage together!! I was again spellbound. How she dances at 45! What dignity! What movements!

Madhuri was so elegant and stylish that Sridevi appeared less skilled. She is that diva who makes girls emulate her – in dancing, walking, carrying onself as well as in acting. (No wonder there is a film called Mein Madhuri Dixit Banna Chaahthi Hoon). Simply, I love it when she dances. It is such a pleasure to watch her.

I have kept this article short on purpose; just so someone doesn’t comment that I am beginning to sound like M F Hussain!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 1, 2012 by in Entertainment, Thoughts and tagged , , , .

Top Rated

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 29 other followers

Archives

Archives By Calendar

October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
