Hava Nagila!

Everything does pass, and we can endure and we can survive!! – Rahul Dravid

Branding

I remember the time we used to have only four brands in our house – one battered old VIP suitcase, some RRC jewellery, one Sumeet mixie and an Onida TV.

Today, nearly 20 years from opening up the economy, every house has become a godown for brands. Each house in Chennai with 4 members, I am sure, hosts atleast 50 brands. It has been long since the Swadesi movement. Now, our loyalties are globalized.

Each member prefers a different kind of paste, soap and shampoo. Colgate, Cinthol, Hamaam, Pears, Lux, Meera, Pepsodent. Every house will have atleast 4 of these. Apart from this, most houses also get Surf and Rin for detergents. Parachute and Dabur are famous hair oil brands that every south Indian household will have.

Every one has a different brand of mobile when one reaches a “certain” age. I wouldn’t be surprised if there is a ceremony added to one’s life – owning the first mobile ceremony. In my house, my mother has a Nokia, I have a Samsung and my father has a Sony Ericsson. I am excluding my brother because he is currently out of town. My parents have BSNL, I have Airtel.

In the electronics section, we have a Sony TV, a Dell laptop and an Apple ipod. We also have a Logitech PureFi speaker. I have a SanDisk flash drive and Western Digital hard drive. The laptop houses an Intel processor and Dolby Digital sound. It also has Microsoft Office installed. Oh, I also have a Reynold’s pen.

We have Philips lights, Havells cables and Crompton Greeves fans.

The kitchen houses the costliest brands of any house. There is a Preethi mixie, Ultra wetgrinder,  Whirpool fridge, a National microwave and a Godrej washing machine. Goldwinner, Aashirvad, Idayam, Brittania, Cadbury, Parle, Modern, Rasna, CocaCola, Bru, Nescafe, Lipton tea, Ruchi, Adyar Ananda Bhavan are common edible item brands in any home. For Christ’s sake, even water is branded and many people have preferences! Some people prefer Bisleri over Kinley while others prefer Aquafina. We buy Saravana water in our house because it comes cheap. Oh my good lord!

The wardrobe is the most branded place of all. Clothes, watches, jewellery, apparel – the more common names that do rounds are Derby, Lifestyle, Arrow, Peter England, Live In, Van Huesen, NaiHaa, Jockey, Shilpa, Nalli, Kumaran, Titan, HMT, Timex, Tanishq, JhillMill, Bata, Pothys, etc are major brands. Crocin, Moov, Dettol and Johnson & Johnson Bandaids are must haves! Nike, Adidas and Reebok have become commonplace.

If you have a 2 or 4 wheeler, add a few more brands. HPCL petrol, Castrol Engine Oil, MRF tyres, Huyndai, TVS.

The Puja area has its own brands – CyclePure Agarbathi, Ambica Sambraani, etc.

If you have an LCD TV, you will have plenty pf brands within it. I am not counting those. Also, I am not counting the brands within my cell phone (Symbian, Android, Carl Zeiss) and my camera or any other device.

I watch IPL played in India Inc. Most movies today are made by big brands – Reliance Big Pictures, UTV, AGS, Ayngaran, Eros and this is not counting many others including the production houses of the MK family. The movie ads are sponsored by big brands. Theatres themselves have become brands these days – Satyam, PVR. The lead actors in the movie sport plenty of brands.

I am tired of listing brands. I want to sleep but before that I must switch on the GoodKnight liquidator to keep away mosquitoes. My mother wants to use the Mortein liquidator because we got that free for something at Spencer’s Daily.

It’s a branded life, buddy! We successfully chased away the East India Company and have welcomed all others.

So much for liberalization! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 5, 2011 by in Thoughts.

Top Rated

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 29 other followers

Archives

Archives By Calendar

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
