Hava Nagila!

Everything does pass, and we can endure and we can survive!! – Rahul Dravid

Samsung Galaxy Ace – The Ace of Spades!

        To hell with brand loyalty! I have been a Nokia user for the past 6.5 years. I had the 1100 Made For India phone for a year and then I switched to Nokia N72. I had the N72 for 5 years and it worked really well for me. I had dropped it in the beach once and repaired it. Then, the display went, I repaired it and the panel had all gone murky. I realized it was time for change!

Touch is the new rage and I started researching Nokia phones. I always preferred Nokia because they have amazing battery life and a sturdy phone body. Namma potu adikarthuku adhu dhaan seriya varum nu oru feeling. 🙂 But the Nokia touch phones with smart facilities were really costly. You needed to shell close to 25k if you needed a really cool Nokia smart phone.

With a heavy heart, I went to Sony. I wasn’t impressed there either. I thought I will put off my plans and went to the Samsung bar. And I was in for a surprise. I found that Samsung has a very good collection of mid range droids. For 10 to 15k, they offer some cool features. Not so cool to be an iphone, not patchy work to be repelling, but somewhere in between. The galaxy series is fantastic in this aspect.

I bought the Samsung Galaxy Ace S5830. It looks like an iphone but is thinner than it. The touch has nothing that I can complain about. With Android v2.2 and Samsung Touchwiz technology, browsing and messaging is just super fast! The 5 MP camera is ultimate. It also offers me a panorama mode – something that I don’t even find in many full size cameras.

The sound is also very good – even better than the ipod. The Music Player is great. It plays just about any format. Xvid/ DivX support can be downloaded from Andriod support centre. Loudspeaker is good too. It comes with a host of Andorid applications – Facebook, Twitter, Gmail, Google Search and Youtube preinstalled. Weather and News get updated by a Samsung App. It comes along with a Google and Microsoft compatible ThinkFree Office which allows me to edit word, powerpoint and excel documents.

Connectivity is blazing fast! Its got bluetooth, it is 3G and WiFi enabled. It has a cool GPS feature. The pack comes with a decent battery and good earphones. It can be charged with the adapter or by USB. The back cover is very nice and easy to handle. It comes with a separate white back cover too. There are 2 mini CDs in the pack which install the Kies application on your computer. That can be used to transfer data between the phone, computer and other compatible devices.

Ofcourse, it has all the regular apps like Calendar, Radio with RDS, Gallery, Calculator, Clock, Voice recorder, Memos and much more. It also has a very fine voice search which works so well. Because it has an Android OS, I don’t have to worry about upgrades and applications. Android has a very large collection of Apps for the phone and most of them come free!

For negatives, it doesn’t have a shutter for the camera. One needs to take care not to damage it. It doesn’t have a TV out functionality or HDMI connectivity. It doesn’t have a front camera – so you cant make 3G calls. But then, if only it had a fridge, microwave and a bureau, I could shrink myself and fit into it. 🙂 Oh my God, I would then become a cellular organism!

I have entered the era of touch, swype, pinch, froyo, on the go, etc. I had to shift loyalties from Finland to South Korea for this. Samsung does feel good!

4 comments on “Samsung Galaxy Ace – The Ace of Spades!

  1. Anonymous
    July 27, 2012

    your an see

  2. Tech
    September 17, 2012

    Wonderful work! That is the type of info that are meant to be shared across the net. Shame on Google for no longer positioning this submit higher! Come on over and talk over with my website . Thanks =)

  3. வெங்கட்
    April 9, 2013

    Thanks Meenakshi. Very useful information

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 3, 2011 by in Reviews.

Top Rated

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 29 other followers

Archives

Archives By Calendar

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
