Hava Nagila!

Everything does pass, and we can endure and we can survive!! – Rahul Dravid

Kizhakku kadarkkarai Part 3 – Hershey’s Chocolate Factory

I had planned the Day 3 of my visit to be with Aparna akka and family. I thought that we would be in their house – may be playing with the kids and you know, just being with family! However, we decided to put one more stop before reaching home. We started from Vasan anna’s house in the morning and after a nice Dosai and Sambar breakfast at Nimmi akka’s house, set off to Hershey’s Chocolate Factory.
 
We reached Hersheys around midday. There was a free chocolate ride which took us through the various processes of making chocolate. There was a small prototype kind of thing which actually made the chocolate as we rode through it. As though the free ride was not enough, they distributed free Hersheys Milk Chocolate as we finished the ride and got off!! As the chocolate melted in my mouth, I followed Rohan and Shreya into the Chocolate store.
 
I was in a "my dreams have come true" state. No one around me knew my craze (near maniac ness) for chocolate and I had no intentions to let them know. I enjoyed the store as much I wanted. There were mounds and heaps of chocolate, piled, stacked, in different shapes and packages. I walked through them and bought two baseball souvenirs. There were Kisses, Reeses, Hersheys Milk Chocolate and many other varieties. Ripley’s Believe It Or Not! – Meenakshi didnt buy even one chocolate. 🙂
 
Back in the car, we headed to New Jersey – to Aparna akka’s house. The journey was fun filled with Rohan and Shreya sharing their childhood with me in the back of the car. Rohan reminds me so much of Kapil (my brother) in his younger days. Shreya was just spectacular – talkative, imaginative and clever. They were singing songs which I captured as videos. Shreya sang her favourite – Jaane Nahin and Rohan was more serious about the singing. Together they sang "All Izz Well" and "Give me some sunshine" from the movie 3 Idiots. After reaching home, Rohan taught me a card game called Garbage. Cards is our family game and am proud of this guy. Rohan, Shreya and I spent some time playing it. I also spent some time talking to Aparna akka while she cooked dinner. We had a sumptuous home cooked dinner – comprising rice, sambar, vazhakkai kari, rasam, thayir and chips. Then I read Shreya her Dora book. It was wonderful to see childhood and innocence in front of me again. I relived a couple of memories from my childhood in my mind’s eye. A new generation has come into being and it is time for us to move forward….
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 15, 2010 by in Travel.

Top Rated

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 29 other followers

Archives

Archives By Calendar

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
