Hava Nagila!

Everything does pass, and we can endure and we can survive!! – Rahul Dravid

Onsite Blues

Nervous Excitement – thats how i d describe my feeling now. I will be travelling to onsite and staying there for the next 6 months. With all the delays typical of the software industry, i am supposed to be travelling this week. It did not sink in me much until I packed stuff yesterday. It was after I finished packing that I realized amma will not be waking me up after Wednesday. I will be on my own, my friends are there but then where I will be staying will not be home. It will not be India, people wont speak Tamil, I will have to cook my own food.
 
I am in a position where I cannot turn back, I cant say I wont go at this stage. Somehow I feel I should have thought of my mother, my home and my country before having said yes in the first place. I decided at that time to take up the challenge of work, I was happy that it was offerred to me. I had wanted to avoid all onsite trips, but I made a conscious decision to just try it out. I feel bad about that now. I was pulled by the force of word "Onsite". I regret having made that decision.
 
I am ripped between having made a bad decision, duty and love. I honestly and sincerely prayed to God to give me strength to take the temporary spearation from my mother, home and country. I am also scared of how I am going to perform at work there. I am worried about how amma will stay alone, how I will stay alone and how I will manage for the next 6 months. I am concerned for the welfare of those who I love and those who I am leaving alone and going to a distant land for the sake of money.
 
I have realized that earning money by being away from relatives is a pain, no matter how much happiness that money can bring later on. I cried, paryed, felt bad, I have done all that people who feel the pangs of separation do. Yet the feelings somehow havent left me. This is a learning I will use at all time in life, in all situations hence forth.
 
This is the age of IT – people are closer to each other through telephone, internet, whatever. But personal touch or atleast the feeling of knowing that if i catch a bus tonight, i ll be at home tomorrow morning is something very very special and different. Thats how I long to live the rest of my life, not as away as I am now. I do not want to go now. If something comes up and cancels my trip, and if that thing that happens doesnt hurt me, I will be happy.
 
I have made up my mind to come back by December come what may, no matter what they offer, even if it means by quitting where I work.
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 23, 2008 by in Thoughts.

Top Rated

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 29 other followers

Archives

Archives By Calendar

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
