Hava Nagila!

Everything does pass, and we can endure and we can survive!! – Rahul Dravid

My Taste Buds

Variety may be the spice of life, but spice is the only variety that appeals to me most, atleast when it comes to food. 🙂
 
I love all vegetarian food. 🙂 I have eaten everywhere from Kai Endhi Bhavans to Five Star Hotels, from Messes to Kitchens to Pandhis to Buffets. From that wide variety, I have filtered here what I relish most.
 
My favorite is always Indian Vegetarian Cuisine. I enjoy really spicy food. Tears must come from my eyes and the top of my head should become hot. Thats the kind of food I like. Not that I dont like sweets, but they are a second choice.
 
My all time favorite dishes are two:
1. Crisp Dosa + My Mom’s Vendakka Sambar 🙂
2. Chappati + Gobi In Any Spicy Form
 
I love cauliflowers in any given form. I love the spicy type of cauliflower vegetables that my mom makes and the cauliflower masala that she makes with or without paneer. Anything takes second place to cauliflowers. I personally think God was in a very good mood when he created cauliflowers. 🙂
 
I loke dosas of all south indian dishes along with sambar and the red color onion/ tomato chutney they give in hotels. I love Bread Upma and vegetable cutlets. 🙂 I have a very special liking for Peas masala in the North Indian cuisine apart from cauliflowers. I really like it when the peas are fresh. I like spicy carrot salad. In Chat, I like Pav Bhaji that they make in Anand Bhavan. Its simply too tasty. I like Kurkure and tea combination. I like really creamy tomato soups. In a marriage, I always find the rasam very nice. I love having very little rice and loads of spicy rasam on the leaf. Its just so wonderful if you know how to eat. In snacks, I like Murukku (Kai murukku) and onion bakodas. I love all kinds of pickles, especially the Maavadoos, molagaa maangai and aavakkaa maangaai. I like Naarthangaai and Pulippu Elimichangaai also. Curd rice eaten with arakkeerai (the kind my grand mother makes without using the mixie) and vatha kozhambu along with a bit of any pickle is heavenly. I love spicy lassi. I like spicy fried rice with really thick raitha. Other than this, I like stuffed paratha and chola poori.
 
In the sweet variety, I love chocolates in any form – cakes, ice creams, bars, shakes, hot, cold, just about any form. I really like butter cakes also. In Indian sweets, I like hot Bholi (the ones that you get in Kerala), Carrot Halwa, Tirunelveli Halwa, Theratippal and Gulab Jamuns (Hot or Cold, preferably hot). I am not a fruit lover but I like Panjaamritham. I like mangoes, bananas, jack fruit, grapes and oranges. In shakes, I like banana and mango shake. I like hot coffee but I dont drink it hot.. 🙂 In juices, my favorite is lemon juice and Sprite.
 
I am a Gobi Manchurian Maniac. Thats the only thing I like in Chinese. I dont have favorites in Continental. In Thai Cuisine, I like the spiced cheese balls that they give in the restaurants. In Italian, I like the spicy pizzas. When I was in Saudi, I really involved myself in Khubs and Sambar. 🙂 Nice combi it used to be.
 
I prefer to sit and eat, I prefer relishing food to gobbling it up. I enjoy what I eat, never waste and always I am satisified after a meal.
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 2, 2007 by in Food and drink.

Top Rated

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 29 other followers

Archives

Archives By Calendar

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
